Posted in random astronomy work

12:01am was when I met my friends

“I have loved the stars too fondly to be fearful of the night. _Sarah Williams.”

“It was 12:01am, the starting of a new day, hence a new chance to change and turn things around. For so many people , their day starts when they wake up around their usual timings after the sun rises , but for people like me, it is the other way around.

I decided to sit outside in my backyard as usual , as the weather was as moderate and satisfying as my emotions. That night however,I could notice my ‘friends’ up there even better. Why? Well, because the silence was of a different kind ; it was not the overwhelming silence that gets on every single nerve present inside one’s body and causes discomfort , and thus makes one bound to escape that very state but a rather divine silence. The kind of silence that everybody needs , in fact there are times when we all do not only seek it , but would do anything it would take to achieve that state of silence. Everybody in the neighborhood and town were probably inside their homes (leaving aside a few exceptional cases) , apparently sleeping or most probably just busy and active on their mobile phones. The thing good about this particular time of the night is that I like and enjoy my own company and it does not overwhelm me with feelings of loneliness and pessimism.It keeps my mind occupied. The only sounds I could hear were the one or two car driving by along with their horns and honks. That was it; no sounds of anyone breathing or walking , and no voices of people talking. Not even the sound of a flying nocturnal creature or something moving in the bushes, nothing. It was just me , the sky above me as blue as the ink inside a fountain pen and the stars dazzling more than expected. All the lights were off too in the entire colony, so it made it easier for me to detect and observe my friends. Plus , the sky was clear and devoid of any signs of air pollution , just for that night.

They were indeed always my friends; from the moment I could see and process thoughts and images in my mind, they became my true friends. I remember how I first truly noticed and admired their beauty when I was about four years old or so, and looked up to stare at them. I felt as though they were shining just for me, saying  ‘hello’ to me and what stood between us were the light years, distances too impossible for species of our World to travel. That was the first time that they ignited the sparks of grit, spirit and delight within me. As years passed by , sometimes feeling like centuries and other times feeling like mere seconds , It seemed as if I had somehow forgotten my friends and that there was an unfilled ‘gap’; yes , I did acknowledge their existence and enjoyed viewing them whenever I could but the connection I have with them now is so profound, certainly as profound and heartfelt as it was when I first noticed their true beauty. You may call it a ‘throwback’.

My face lit up with glee because this was the moment where nothing or no one could disturb me and let me be content the way I was.  The sky is always full of fantastic views and opportunities to gain an extraordinary kind of rigtheousness. Staring at them persistently, I realised I was time travelling, looking at the ‘messages’ of light sent by my friends from many many years ago towards my eyes and my retinas. I thought to myself, “Why are these enormous celestial ‘candles’ so unique, when there are LITERALLY countless of them, scattered and growing non-stop throughout the cosmos?”

That was when it hit me in very deep. Their abundance was meant to be, and there was a beautiful purpose behind it. These divine glowing bodies are up there to remind us that there is a deity in control of everything imaginable, and there are purposes of the totality and all its galactic arms and stars surfacing on its skin beyond chemistry and physics.

If it weren’t for these stars, I would not get half the motivation I have right now for everything in general. They give me life and fuel me with aspirations. They are proof that mercy and love exists in all unbounded forms. There is something miraculous about their glow that lights up passion not only my heart, but also the hearts of millions, perhaps more than a billion people. Maybe every single one of us, once we begin to notice.

Therefore, it was 12:01am that night when I found out I always had my friends to confide to, for they never stopped be from learning, growing and preaching love. Their luminosity was what lead me to write this down.”

-Samavia.

Author:

I am 16 years old and from Pakistan. Currently an 11th grader who loves astronomy , writing ,trippy pictures, motivational speaking , Islam and things that make our planet a better place. The Universe and all that it contains never fails to fascinate me , so I choose to use different astronomical terms in my essays , poems , writings etc. I hope you like my content and that my depiction of life fascinates you as well! :) Also, many of my imagery posts are based on my real and personal experiences. P.s thank you everyone for the visits , views , likes, follows and comments. You're all loved and your support is appreciated.

Leave a Reply

